Acting

February 10, 2012 at 10:40 pm 8 comments

The subject of this post has had books written about it. Unfortunately, I don’t have the knowledge nor the room to write a book about it–I will only be skimming the surface. This also should explain the name for my blog.

I have been/am part of a theater group named,”Perform it! Young Peoples Stage Company.” The group consists of about fifty kids, ranging from five to nineteen, and we perform Shakespeare’s plays. I have been on this same stage, performing theater, since I was six years old, and have loved it ever since.

It is not just being the center of attention that attracts me to theater so much-though I would be lying to say that that didn’t have any appeal-it is a whole combination of things, compounding into one feeling that I cannot describe. The aspects that I can express are these: The costumes, the makeup, the teamwork, the feeling of the lights as they come down on the stage, the music that opens the performance, and the rush that comes with stepping out on the stage–the stage, where once you have stepped out on it, you are no longer yourself; you are your character. The stage–it can be your enemy or your friend. Your enemy, should you drop a line and suddenly notice the heat emanating from the lights, how silent everything can be, and the eyes of the audience boring holes into you. Your friend, should you take all of that into stride and try again.

Theater brings out the sides to people’s characters that you would never have noticed otherwise. I have seen those that are quiet and shy off the stage, turn into pompous, bold, or flirtatious people, on the stage. Theater can turn people who already have these characteristics, into drama queens–a trait that can make even the best actors and actresses unbearable to be around.

Acting is a very competitive field. Although many people may love to act, they will not necessarily become professionals. Out of the millions who want to act in movies or  onstage, only a small percentage will make it–and those people are not just ‘good actors.’ They are brilliant, exceptional, actors. However, this is no reason to back down if you are passionate and work hard enough. Acting isn’t about simply being the center of attention or how much money or fame you attract–if the first thought that comes to mind is not the acting itself, than you are not as serious about it as you might have thought.

The theater is everything to me. I know that many will roll their eyes when they hear a sixteen year old say, “I want to be an actress!” But when I say that, I really do want to be. If I don’t become a professional who walks on the red carpet, but simply a person who can pick up small acting jobs here and there-even to have acting on the back burner of life, permanently-then I will be happy. As long as I am “alwaysonstage”, I will be content.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The First Post Singles Awareness Day (Otherwise known as Valentine’s Day).

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carolyn  |  February 10, 2012 at 11:15 pm

    This is really good!!!!!! I love it!

    Reply
  • 2. Autom  |  February 11, 2012 at 12:05 am

    Very well written, nice job! :D

    Reply
  • 3. boldbrightbeautiful  |  February 11, 2012 at 1:17 am

    This is so cool! I’m trying acting this year, going to be in a play based off the book “The Princess and the Goblin” by George Macdonald… this post made me want to go start acting even sooner :)

    Reply
    • 4. alwaysonstage  |  February 11, 2012 at 3:21 pm

      Thanks! That’s awesome, I hope you’ll love it and have as much fun as I do. :D

      Reply
  • 5. alwaysonstage  |  February 11, 2012 at 3:21 pm

    Thank you, everyone!

    Reply
  • 6. Katie  |  February 11, 2012 at 4:46 pm

    Fabulous!! :)

    Reply
  • 8. dynamicjoy  |  February 12, 2012 at 1:10 am

    WOOT WOOT for acting!!!!!!! :D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



