Friendship

February 20, 2012 at 3:20 am 2 comments

Each one of us wants to be loved. To feel needed, wanted, and cared for. Why do we feel this way? Because there is such a thing as friendship. And without friendship, each one of us feels the opposite: unwanted, unneeded, and unloved. That’s never a fun feeling. So my goal in life? To never make others feel that way and to be able to say when I die, “I had the time of my life with my friends.” I want to be known as a girl that made others feel loved. 

Sometimes a friend will say to me, “Thanks for being there for me.” I say that too because when I feel a rush of gratitude towards a friend, I want to try to show my appreciation. Recently, as I mentioned in my first post, I asked a close friend for help on setting up this blog–because that’s what friends do. What are friends for if you cannot ask them for help? To open up to them or to cry to them? Phrases that irk me are “I don’t need help” or,”I can get through it by myself.” People that have to say this are only proving that they do in fact need a supporting hand. It is those that say, “I need you right now” that are the smart ones. 

A favorite quote of mine by Martin Luther King Jr. is, “In the end we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends.” We will only really know who our true friends are by watching their actions. Words do not mean anything if actions do not back them up. Anyone can say, “I like you” or, “You’re my best friend.” But not everyone can or will mean it. 

There was a period in my life where I was alone. I didn’t have that one special friend. I wasn’t partying it up every weekend; my weekends consisted of sitting around the living room with my parents and occasionally my brother, talking about my miserable, friendless life. Oh sure I had plenty of friends: but no really close friends, which is what I wanted. Then I began to spend more time with my neighbor, Katelyn. Then with her best friend, Joy. Soon, I was attending their church twice a week, and we formed a knitting club. From there, I became closer with a couple of other people from my acting group, and they make my world (and my weekends).

Now, I still don’t party it up every weekend, and I still sometimes sit around the living room with my parents, complaining about the latest high school problems I have. But I went from having zero best friends, to several best friends. They are the friends that I hope to carry with me through college. And right now? I couldn’t be happier with who I know.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Singles Awareness Day (Otherwise known as Valentine’s Day). Choices And The Future

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dynamicjoy  |  February 20, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    I like this. Very. Very much =) <33

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



