Choices And The Future

February 23, 2012 at 2:48 am 4 comments

Everyone has to make choices. Some are easy: You may have to choose between eating chocolate ice cream or vanilla (go with chocolate). Some choices are harder to make than others. They may hurt yourself, loved ones, or both. They may affect your future. But they need to be made, and everyone faces a difficult decision at least once in their lifetime, probably more.

Recently, I saw a girl being hit by someone in her car. I didn’t know what to do-I couldn’t exactly jump out of my car and tell the guy to leave, as I might be putting myself in danger (and who would listen to a sixteen year old girl anyway)-but I felt obligated to do something. Not knowing what the right thing to do would be, I drove away, seeing the girl get messed with again. I couldn’t believe what I had just seen, and I felt helpless in this situation. After getting home and relating this to my dad, he told me I probably should have called 9-1-1. I immediately realized that that’s what I should have done. Instead of making the choice that might have helped the situation, I made the choice to get myself completely out of the situation. I didn’t know what to do, and without even realizing it at the time, I made the wrong decision.

I’m starting to find that, with my getting older, I’m facing more and harder decisions. The decisions I make now are more likely to affect my future. I’ve never really dealt with peer pressure before–now I’m beginning to notice it more. I’ve felt the pressure to smoke weed, something I’ve never felt inclined to do before, because I know people who do. But I’ve made the choice not to: because sure, getting high might be fun for about ten minutes..but I’m focusing on my life. My future. What is best for me as a whole. Do I want to have good memories of my teenage years when I’m twenty five? Yes, of course! And I will; drug free.  Because I want to make a decision I know I wont regret in the future.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Friendship Sixteen Doesn’t Mean A Party

4 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



