How The Seasons Affect Our Moods

March 19, 2012 at 5:17 pm 3 comments

There’s something about the weather changing that plays with our moods. A horrible mood can either be fixed or worsened, depending on what the thermometer says. You could almost say the weather is like a friend or enemy. Sometimes it will cheer you up when you need it; or it will only continue to rub you the wrong way.

I’ve always been aware of this fact. For example: I wake on a Monday morning to my mother saying, “Get up, lazy loafer, it’s past 8:00, your peers have been in school for half an hour now.” I think of the prospect of starting school, and Saturday being five long days away. I then look out my window to see, not sunshine, but a cloudy, drizzly gloom. That will most likely last all day. For the rest of my life. Well, that’s a bit of an exaggeration. Point is, my attitude is sour until 3:00 when I can escape to my room, and the weather did nothing to prevent that. Sorry everyone, but you’ll just have to deal with snappy replies. And if you’re really nice, you might get an entire hysterical breakdown. Lucky you!

However, this Monday morning was different. The previous day had been a lovely way to end the weekend. I woke up at 6:30 to birds chirping, and looked out my window to gaze at the fiery red sun. Normally, during the summer, if I hear a bird squawking “Phoeeeebeeeee!!” at that un-Godly time, I lower my blinds to prevent the sun from poking me in the eye, cover my head with a pillow, and, in between swearing at the bird, mentally wish I had a few rocks to throw at it. But this morning, I didn’t wish that. It had been so long since I’d heard the birds at all, or seen the sun come up, that I felt only contentment. I had a feeling that today would go well: And it has, so far.

Our outlooks on life seem to change with the weather, as well. A couple of months ago, my friend was so depressed it scared me a little, and our mottos were, in cleaner terms, “Life sucks. I hate guys. And people. And everything. What’s my purpose in life right now? I wish we could all just die because what’s the point of even being alive..” Once again, that last part may be a slight exaggeration. But we were not happy at all. Although these attitudes might have been a little different had certain things not come about, the weather made it even worse. Now? My friend is happier, and my motto is, “Life is good. For now.”

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Love Summer Plans

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dynamicjoy  |  March 19, 2012 at 5:32 pm

    true, and I know it’s hard sometimes but…don’t let the weather dictate your attitude or outlook on a day!! If we let him, Jesus can overcome our bad perspectives.. All weather is a gift from God, and we shouldn’t look at it as a curse! =)

    Reply
    • 2. alwaysonstage  |  March 19, 2012 at 9:25 pm

      Oh no, the weather isn’t a curse it can be a blessing too haha.

      Reply
  • 3. dynamicjoy  |  March 20, 2012 at 11:26 pm

    :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



