Time

March 28, 2012 at 9:18 pm 4 comments

I’m going to start this post with a cliche statement: Time is a valuable thing. We’ve all heard that phrase many times…usually from our parents and usually when we are doing something that they think is a ‘waste of time.’ Sometimes they’re right, sometimes it’s just an excuse for them to get you to wash their car. Whatever you think when someone tells you, “Time is a valuable thing”, is your business. But I have come to realize the truth in it.

Three years ago, I thought being sixteen was ages away. I thought getting my license was even farther away, as was working, college, a boyfriend, and getting married. The last two are likely to be a few years away yet. But the others? Two are already accomplished, and the other happens in a year and a half. While I’m still waiting impatiently to turn eighteen (for reasons I won’t bother going into), I also reflect on how quickly time has gone by. It seems like just yesterday I was an awkward thirteen year old looking for that best friend. And yet, when I’m waiting for something, time goes by slowly, until the thing I’m waiting for happens.

Sometimes I’ll pause for a minute and think about where I am in life. About living and daily happenings. I think how strange it is just being alive and being on this thing called ‘Earth.’ When you think about it, time itself is weird. We call now the present but the present is already the past. When I wake up in the morning I think about how the long the day will be if I’m staying home all day. But by four in the afternoon, I’m surprised by how late it is. By 11:00, I think about what I did that day: And if it was a fairly unproductive day, then I feel a little guilty. I suddenly think, “Why didn’t I do this in place of that?! I’ll do better tomorrow. There’s always another day.” But before I know it, a week, a month, two months, have passed. And what has changed?

Let me ask you this: Each day, are you doing something beneficial to yourself? Are you doing something even good? Are you learning something new or accomplishing something you’ve been putting off, like looking up colleges? Having any idea about your future and moving slowly towards that goal? I don’t care how much fun video games are: Time is a valuable thing. Don’t waste it by blowing things up. So, without further ado, I’m getting off the computer.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Summer Plans Flirting

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dynamicjoy  |  March 28, 2012 at 9:43 pm

    You go girl!!! I’ve been asking myself those questions a lot lately…takes guts to get off one’s butt and DO something!! But totally worth it :)

    Reply
    • 2. alwaysonstage  |  March 29, 2012 at 6:36 pm

      Hehe thanks! Yeah, totally. :) I think I know what you meant now when you said that you wanted to do something and felt un-motivated..or something along those lines lol.

      Reply
      • 3. dynamicjoy  |  March 30, 2012 at 9:00 pm

        see, things I say DO make sense eventually;)

      • 4. alwaysonstage  |  March 31, 2012 at 2:39 pm

        Ahaha, yes, they do! :D

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



