Hiking, And All Its Glamour

April 16, 2012 at 6:14 pm 3 comments

There are two sides to hiking: The dream idea of hiking, and the reality of it. Unfortunately, when I went hiking with a few friends yesterday, I was prepared for the dream aspect of it. That is, straight path walking, but at the same time getting enough of a workout to make me not feel so guilty watching Dancing With The Stars for two hours. I was not thinking of the ticks, the extreme shortness of breath, the heat, or the slippery leaves that make going down a hill an interesting experience.

So yesterday, around 2:00 in the afternoon, Shayla, Jatone, Reahn, and I, started walking. The first bit was fine–that was the walking on the flat pavement on the way to the actual trail. Once we started climbing however, I began thinking this wasn’t such a bright idea on my part. The sun was beaming down, as if it were determined to fry us into oblivion, and after about ten minutes, I was already sweating and trying desperately not to show that I couldn’t breathe (a difficult task). As soon as the ground appeared to level out, and I began to hope that the hike was nearing a close, another hill rose up before us, each one harder to climb than the last. Fortunately, for some reason only people who like exercise would understand, Reahn likes to feel his legs burning from the effort of hiking, and I was able to get a piggy-back ride up one of the hills. After that however, I was virtually on my own to face even more ‘outdoor fun.’

When we took our first brief stop, everyone began checking for ticks. Shayla and I had a few on our pants, but Reahn and Jatone were finding them everywhere. Had I not been dying from lack of oxygen, I would’ve laughed even harder than I was. Even so, what breath I had left was being used to laugh at two teenage boys who were yelling every time they found a tick on them. After each break that we took, they proceeded to strip and check each other, while Shayla and I calmly plucked the ticks off, and teased them about how ticks prefer dark skinned people.

The next hills we began to walk up seemed more like mini mountains. There was no clear path, so Shayla led the way with Jatone following closely, Reahn jumping energetically from rock to rock, and me, staggering haphazardly into branches and trying my hardest not to slip on a rock or sprain my ankle. The promise to myself to not show how out of breath I was, was broken. Any response you got from me was a ragged sounding laugh, that sounded more like your typical wheezy old person, than a supposedly fit sixteen year old. I began to think, “All this for a stupid view at the top?!” and kept telling myself that the hike would be all over after we climbed the next hill…and the next…and the next…

At last, we were at the top! And the view really was pretty cool. A constant breeze swept over all of us, cooling down our flushed and sweaty selves, and after sitting on a rock for awhile, I felt much better. Coming back down the mountain was a lot easier, and I began to feel a twinge of contentment: My reason to exercise was not to lose weight–if I did, you’d probably be able to see through me–but because I know that it will benefit me in the long run. Suddenly, everything I did felt better, just from hiking. And even though I woke up this morning sore, it was a good feeling. And given the opportunity, I would do it all over again.

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Flirting Growing Up in the Country

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dynamicjoy  |  April 16, 2012 at 6:24 pm

    WOOOT!!! YES!! Love it!! :D “The first bit was fine..” hahaha xD This post was highly amusing–where did you hike?! The ticks seem a bit unusual…

    Reply
  • 2. alwaysonstage  |  April 17, 2012 at 2:00 am

    Thanks! And it was close to Shayla’s house, we’re hoping to go to other places though. :)

    Reply
  • 3. alwaysonstage  |  April 17, 2012 at 2:08 am

    Oh, and I was surprised too at how many ticks there were.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



